Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Rathy, Friday Win World Championships
Press Release
Date: 08-30-2009

Orlando, Fla. - Fans packed shores of the Orlando Watersports Complex in Orlando, Fla. today for the final rounds of action at the 2009 ROCKSTAR WWA Wakeboard World Championships, presented by Supra.

In the Pro Women's division, Orlando's own Dallas Friday made a splash on her hometown waters today, winning her first world title since 2006 - her fourth of her career. England's Nicola Butler finished in second place, while Aussie Amber Wing took third.

Canada's Aaron Rathy edged out 15-year-old Australian rookie phenom Harley Clifford 87.50 and 85.00 in today's Pro Men's division finals to win his first world title. Clifford and former two-time world champ Andrew Adkison rounded out the contest podium, respectively.

The 2009 Worlds served as the final event in both the King of Wake and Queen of Wake series. With today's wins, both Aaron Rathy and Dallas Friday were launched to the top of the series overall point standings, earning Rathy his first King of Wake crown and Friday her first Queen of Wake crown. Both riders received a cash bonus and a year worth of bragging rights.

During today's contest, Shaun Murray claimed the ROCKSTAR Best Trick Award for his massive Heelside 540 of off the U.S. Air Force kicker. The Award is a $1,000 cash prize.

Defending world champ Reed Hansen of Groveland, Fla. faced off in a fierce five-man final today in the Pro Wakeskate division to win his third consecutive world title - the most any pro wakeskater has won in the history of the sport. Stuart Shinn and Brandon Thomas rounded out the podium.

In the Jr. Pro Men's division, riders battled it out in a six-man final for the world title. All six riders threw down some impressive runs, but Aussie Mitch Langfield topped the competition to win his first World Championship. Daniel Powers and Steel Lafferty rounded out the contest podium, respectively.

For results, standings, photos, videos, athlete bios and more, please visit

The Wakeboard World Championships is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla. The Worlds has the support of the following sponsors: Rockstar Energy Drink, Supra boats, Mona Vie, the U.S. Air Force, Indmar, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Ronix, Liquid Force, Gator Boards, Oakley, WWA, Ride the Wake, FUEL TV and

The World Wakeboard Association (WWA) is a rider formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing wake sports worldwide. It is the leading source for riders, event organizers and competitive standards.

Supra is the official tow boat of the WWA Wakeboard World Championships. Celebrating 30 years of excellence in the marine industry, Supra pioneered rider-friendly boats that feature innovative hull designs, adjustable wakes and versatile seating with sleek and sexy styling.

ROCKSTAR is the world's most powerful energy drink. Enhanced with the potent herbal blend of Guarana, Ginkgo, Ginseng and Milk Thistle, ROCKSTAR is formulated to provide an incredible energy boost for those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles - from athletes to rock stars. ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available in eleven amazing flavors: Original, Sugar Free, Zero Carb, Juiced Mango Orange Passion Fruit, Juiced Guava, Juiced Pomegranate, Tropical Punched, Punched Citrus, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Latte, and Roasted Light Vanilla. ROCKSTAR ENERGY SHOTS are available in Wild Berry and Tropical Punch flavors. ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available at convenience and grocery retail outlets across the United States, Canada, Australia, Austria, Belgium, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, Finland, Spain, The Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, and throughout the United Kingdom.

Media Partners

To catch all the high-flying, rail-sliding, water-sports action of the King of Wake series, tune in to FUEL TV - the official television partner of the King of Wake. WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the King of Wake series. Read about all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and news.

King of Wake

Viewed as the world's elite pro wakeboarding circuit, the King of Wake series has attracted the sport's top athletes from throughout the globe. With more than $300,000 in prize money over the eight-event season, athletes compete during the course of the year to be named the "King of Wake" - an award based on points accumulated at each stop of the series. Events include the Wake Games, the WWA Wakeboard National Championships, the WWA Wakeboard World Championships and all five stops on the Pro Wakeboard Tour. The King of Wake is organized by World Sports & Marketing - the leading wake events producer since 1988.

Alli, the Alliance of Action Sports

Alli, the Alliance of Action Sports, is a global business that encompasses national and international action sports tours and events, multimedia production, and a consumer facing lifestyle brand. The Alliance includes: the Dew Tour, Winter Dew Tour, China Invitational, Maloof Money Cup, AMA Motocross Championship, King of Wake series, and the Free Flow Tour; Alli Productions, which creates original content, produces and presents content with partners, and distributes Alli content through a variety of channels. Alli is owned by NBC Sports and MTV Networks and represents a network of athletes, fans, brands and properties. Its mission is to facilitate the momentous growth of action sports, through competition and lifestyle, for a new generation of fans and athletes. The Alli properties are home to more than 550,000 spectators each year and broadcasts more than 150 hours of original content in 100 countries and 280 million homes worldwide. More information can be found at


Pro Men - Final #1

1. Aaron Rathy CAN 87.50

2. Harley Clifford AUS 85.00

3. Andrew Adkison USA 84.50

4. Rusty Malinoski CAN 81.50

5. Danny Harf USA 61.50

Pro Women - Final #1

1. Dallas Friday USA 92.75

2. Nicola Butler GBR 91.00

3. Amber Wing AUS 74.25

4. Melissa Marquardt USA 72.00

5. Raimi Merritt USA 71.00

6. Meagan Ethell USA 50.00

Pro Wakeskate - Final #1

1. Reed Hansen USA 75.00

2. Stuart Shinn USA 66.67

3. Brandon Thomas USA 58.33

4. Brian Grubb USA 43.33

5. James Balzer CAN 33.33

Jr. Pro Men - Final #1

1. Mitch Langfield AUS 92.50

2. Daniel Powers USA 82.75

3. Steel Lafferty USA 81.25

4. Nick Galotifore USA 71.50

5. Bob Soven USA 63.50

6. Jacob Valdez USA 58.50

Pro Veterans - Final #1

1. Ricky Gonzalez USA 68.89

2. Glen Fletcher USA 63.33

3. Chad Reese USA 47.22

Women Wakeskate - Final #1

1. Jen GilanFarr USA 66.67

2. Michaela de Waern SWE 53.33

3. Bethany Henderson USA 40.00

Masters - Final #1

1. Jeremy Baker USA 72.22

2. Billy Garcia USA 67.67

3. Mario Manzoli BRZ 61.11

4. Mike Vanpatten USA 54.33

5. Anthony Monaco USA 51.67

6. Kurt Robertson NZL 38.89

Men's I - Final #1

1. Nick Foren USA 73.33

2. Hunter Hanson USA 63.33

3. Brad Spencer USA 50.00

4. Clayton Underwood USA 45.00

5. Lewis Link USA 40.00

6. Leif Lacey USA 20.00

Pro Men - Semifinals #1

1. Danny Harf USA 95.50

2. Trevor Hansen USA 90.00

3. Chad Sharpe CAN 78.25

4. Shane Bonifay USA 60.50

Pro Men - Semifinals #2

1. Andrew Adkison USA 93.50

2. Jim LaRiche USA 88.00

3. Danny Thollander USA 82.25

4. JD Webb USA 76.25

Pro Men - Semifinals #3

1. Harley Clifford AUS 94.50

2. Dean Smith AUS 90.75

3. Bryan Hutton USA 83.25

4. Kyle Rattray CAN 71.50

Pro Men - Semifinals #4

1. Aaron Rathy CAN 100.00

2. Shawn Watson USA 87.25

3. Erik Ruck USA 78.50

4. Olivier Derome CAN 74.25

Pro Men - Semifinals #5

1. Rusty Malinoski CAN 92.25

2. Phillip Soven USA 88.75

3. Shaun Murray USA 87.00

4. Josh Sanders AUS 72.00

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge