Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Hot-Streaks Continue to Burn Bright with Wins in Phoenix
Date: 06-30-2008
Press Release

Phoenix, Ariz. - Phillip Soven, 19, of Longwood, Fla. and Nicola Butler, 16, from Cape Town, South Africa have once again proven to be unstoppable this season, as both pro wakeboarders extended their hot-streaks to four consecutive Tour stop victories, after claiming the top spots in today's finals at the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour stop in Phoenix.

Soven claimed his fourth straight Tour stop win of the season, after beating current Wake Games champion Rusty Malinoski, 2004 Rookie of the Year JD Webb and 2006 King of Wake Tino Santori who rounded out the Pro Men's finals today, respectively. Soven's win in Phoenix marks the most consecutive victories any rider has won in a single season.

"It's my fourth straight Tour win of the season and with only one stop remaining, it sort of feels like the final nail in the coffin," said Soven. "Winning in Phoenix definitely gives me an advantage going into the final stop, but I can't let it go to my head, I need to keep focus."

Randall Harris did not make the podium in Phoenix today; however, the California native did pick up some extra cash thanks to Rockstar Energy Drink. Harris was named the winner of the Rockstar Best Trick Award, a $1,000 cash bonus for landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a wrap 720 off the Air Force Kicker.

In the Pro Women's Division, Nicola Butler claimed her fourth win of the season as well, after taking on five other female finalists. Butler's win today ties with Phillip Soven at four for the most consecutive wins in a single season.

"I'm really stoked about how I have been riding on Tour this season and today's win gives me great momentum moving forward," said Butler.

Although Amber Wing didn't win in Phoenix today, the current wakeboard world champion didn't walk away empty handed, as she claimed the MONA VIE Best Trick Award. The award is a $250 bonus for the female rider landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a toeside 720.

Jimmy LaRiche captured his third win of the season, after taking the top spot in the Jr. Men's finals today.

To catch all the wakeboarding action from home, tune in to Fuel TV. For exact air dates, visit

Fuel TV is a 24/7 action-sports lifestyle network for wakeboarding, skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX and freestyle motocross. A unit of Fox Cable Networks, Fuel TV was launched July 1, 2003, and is seen in 24 million U.S. homes. To subscribe to Fuel TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit

MasterCraft is the exclusive tow boat for the Pro Wakeboard Tour, as it has been since the tour's wakeboarding events began in 1992. Indmar Marine engines will provide the power for MasterCraft's X Series line of competition tow boats.

Rockstar is the world's most powerful energy drink. Developed to increase the recovery time of those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles, Rockstar Energy Drink is available in 10 flavors -- Original, Sugar Free, Juiced, Zero Carb, Guava, Pomegranate, Punched, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Vanilla Light and Roasted Latte -- at convenience stores and retail grocery outlets across the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia and the United Kingdom.

WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour. WakeBoarding is the definitive source on all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and the latest news.

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Mona Vie, the U.S. Air Force, Indmar, Billabong, Hyperlite Wakeboards,
CWB Wakeboards, Gator Boards, Ronix Wakeboards, Oakley, Reef, Cire, and

MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour: Phoenix, AZ

Sunday, June 29 - Final Results:

Pro Men

Finals - Heat 01

1 Phillip Soven USA 96.00

2 Rusty Malinoski CAN 88.50

3 JD Webb USA 78.75

4 Tino Santori USA 76.75

Pro Women

Finals - Heat 01

1 Nicola Butler UK 93.25

2 Amber Wing AUS 81.50

3 Melissa Marquardt USA 74.25

4 Raimi Merritt USA 74.00

5 Shelby Kantar USA 70.25

6 Emily Copeland Durham USA 56.75

Jr. Men (14-18)

Finals - Heat 01

1 Jimmy LaRiche USA 89.50

2 Robert Soven USA 88.00

3 Harley Clifford AUS 84.25

4 Danny Burnstein USA 78.25

Jr. Men (14-18)

Semifinals - Heat 01

1 Harley Clifford AUS 98.00

2 Robert Soven USA 88.00

3 Stephen Cahail USA 76.50

4 Jarrod Askew AUS 72.25

5 Jacob Valdez USA 65.25

Jr. Men (14-18)

Semifinals - Heat 02

1 Jimmy LaRiche USA 96.00

2 Danny Burnstein USA 84.50

3 Julian Cohen USA 84.50

4 Daniel Powers USA 73.50

5 Steel Lafferty USA 45.00

Pro Men

Semifinals - Heat 01

1 Rusty Malinoski CAN 90.50

2 JD Webb USA 89.00

3 Aaron Rathy CAN 83.75

4 Adam Fields USA 67.75

5 Randall Harris USA 48.00

Pro Men

Semifinals - Heat 02

1 Phillip Soven USA 92.00

2 Tino Santori USA 86.50

3 Shawn Watson USA 83.25

4 Adam Errington SCT 76.25

5 Austin Hair USA 62.00

Pro Men

Quarterfinals - Heat 01

1 Shawn Watson USA 93.00

2 Randall Harris USA 87.25

3 Andrew Adkison USA 84.00

4 Chris O'Shea AUS 75.75

Pro Men

Quarterfinals - Heat 02

1 Adam Errington SCT 95.00

2 Tino Santori USA 92.75

3 Corey Bradley CAN 78.75

4 Olivier Derome USA 73.50

Pro Men

Quarterfinals - Heat 03

1 JD Webb USA 95.50

2 Adam Fields USA 90.75

3 Sean O'Brien USA 81.00

4 Dean Smith AUS 58.75

Pro Men

Quarterfinals - Heat 04

1 Rusty Malinoski CAN 97.00

2 Austin Hair USA 90.00

3 Zane Schwenk USA 78.50

4 Chad Sharpe CAN 74.50

Pro Men

Quarterfinals - Heat 05

1 Phillip Soven USA 94.50

2 Aaron Rathy CAN 88.00

3 Trevor Hansen USA 87.00

4 Dustin O'Ferrall CAN 71.50

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge