Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Soven and Butler on a Roll with Second Straight Tour Wins
Press Release
Date: 06-01-2008

Fort Worth, Tex. - The only heat thousands of wakeboarding fans were excited about on a sweltering summer day at the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour stop in Fort Worth was today's Pro Men's Division final heat of four at Texas MasterCraft.

JD Webb (USA), Rusty Malinoski (CAN), Andrew Adkison (USA) and Phillip Soven (USA) battled it out on the waters of Lake Moser to see which rider would claim the top spot in Fort Worth. All four rippers put up some exciting runs, but in the end reigning Tour champion Phillip Soven took home the win. Adkison and Malinoski rounded out the podium respectively.

"It was really tough out there today, but I pulled it off and came out with the win," said Soven. "I've been riding well and I am feeling pretty confident going into the next Tour stop."

Although JD Webb didn't win in Fort Worth today, the 2004 Rookie of the Year did pick-up some extra cash thanks to Rockstar Energy Drink. Webb was named the winner of the Rockstar Best Trick Award, a $1,000 cash bonus for landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a 270 tailpress to 90 out off of the Billabong Rooftop.

The world's top female rippers took to the water today for the first-ever Pro Women's Division finals in Fort Worth. Hayley Smith (AUS), Shelby Kantar (USA), Nicola Butler (UK), Emily Copeland Durham (USA), Amber Wing (AUS) and Dallas Friday (USA) fielded the final heat of the contest.

Looking for the win, all six female finalists held nothing back in their runs, but in the end 2008 Wake Games champion Nicola Butler claimed the top spot. Friday and Copeland Durham rounded out the top-three respectively.

Nicola Butler's success continued in Fort Worth today, as the second-year pro ripper claimed the MONA VIE Best Trick Award. The award is a $250 bonus for the female rider landing the most impressive trick of the contest, backboard to backlip over the Billabong Rooftop.

With wins in Acowrth, Ga. and now Fort Worth, Phillip Soven and Nicola Butler have a commanding lead in the Tour's Indmar Performance Standings.

The final four riders in the Jr. Men's Division hit the water today for their final round at the Fort Worth contest. Harley Clifford (AUS), Robert Soven (USA), Nick Davies (UK) and Jimmy LaRiche (USA) battled it out for the top spot, but in the end it was LaRiche who took the title home. Clifford and Soven rounded out the podium respectively.

Fort Worth was the second of five stops on the 2008 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour. Following Fort Worth, the Tour will visit Twin Cities, Minn. (June 7-8), Phoenix, Ariz. (June 28-29) and wrap-up in Reno, Nev. (July 11-13).

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour is a season-long points chase toward the tour title and the Indmar Performance Award, a $10,000 cash bonus to the top points earner in the Pro Men's Division and a $5,000 prize for the Pro Women's Division winner.

To catch all the wakeboarding action from home, tune in to Fuel TV. For exact air dates, visit

Fuel TV is a 24/7 action-sports lifestyle network for wakeboarding, skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX and freestyle motocross. A unit of Fox Cable Networks, Fuel TV was launched July 1, 2003, and is seen in 24 million U.S. homes. To subscribe to Fuel TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit

MasterCraft is the exclusive tow boat for the Pro Wakeboard Tour, as it has been since the Tour's wakeboarding events began in 1992. Indmar Marine engines will provide the power for MasterCraft's X Series line of competition tow boats.

Rockstar is the world's most powerful energy drink. Developed to improve the recovery time of those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles, Rockstar Energy Drink is available in 10 flavors -- Original, Sugar Free, Juiced, Zero Carb, Guava, Pomegranate, Punched, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Vanilla Light and Roasted Latte -- at convenience stores and retail grocery outlets across the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia and the United Kingdom.

WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour. WakeBoarding is the definitive source on all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and the latest news.

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Mona Vie, the U.S. Air Force, Indmar, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Gator Boards, Ronix, Oakley, Reef, Cire, and

Sunday, June 1 - Final Results:

Pro Men

Finals Heat #: 01

1 Soven, Phillip USA 94.25

2 Adkison, Andrew USA 85.50

3 Malinoski, Rusty CAN 85.25

4 Webb, JD USA 75.25

Pro Women

Finals Heat #: 01

1 Butler, Nicola UK 100.00

2 Friday, Dallas USA 79.25

3 Copeland Durham, Emily USA 75.25

4 Wing, Amber AUS 66.25

5 Kantar, Shelby USA 66.00

6 Smith, Hayley AUS 63.25

Junior Men (14-18)

Finals Heat #: 01

1 LaRiche, Jimmy USA 88.33

2 Clifford, Harley AUS 78.33

3 Soven, Robert USA 61.67

4 Davies, Nick UK 49.44

Junior Men (14-18)

Semi Finals Heat #: 01

1 LaRiche, Jimmy USA 80.00

2 Soven, Robert USA 63.89

3 Askew, Jarrod AUS 55.00

4 Racinelli, AJ USA 33.33

5 King, Ryan USA 22.78

Junior Men (14-18)

Semi Finals Heat #: 02

1 Clifford, Harley AUS 80.00

2 Davies, Nick UK 70.00

3 Cohen, Julian USA 60.00

4 Derome, Raphael CDN 48.89

5 Aslinger, Phillip USA 39.44

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #: 01

1 Malinoski, Rusty CAN 92.25

2 Webb, JD USA 85.50

3 Hutton, Bryan USA 80.50

4 Hansen, Trevor USA 74.00

5 Watson, Shawn USA 67.75

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #: 02

1 Adkison, Andrew USA 89.50

2 Soven, Phillip USA 82.00

3 Errington, Adam SCT 81.00

4 Watkins, Daniel AUS 75.25

5 Santori, Tino USA 70.25

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 01

1 Adkison, Andrew USA 92.50

2 Hansen, Trevor USA 91.00

3 Fields, Adam USA 80.00

4 Hair, Austin USA 76.50

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 02

1 Errington, Adam SCT 89.75

2 Hutton, Bryan USA 88.75

3 Alberts, Kyle USA 61.67

4 Rathy, Aaron CAN 49.44

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 03

1 Malinoski, Rusty CAN 90.00

2 Santori, Tino USA 86.75

3 O'Brien, Sean USA 83.00

4 Sharpe, Chad CAN 64.50

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 04

1 Webb, JD USA 88.75

2 Watkins, Daniel AUS 88.00

3 Derome, Olivier CAN 86.50

4 Bradley, Corey USA 76.75

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 05

1 Soven, Phillip USA 97.75

2 Watson, Shawn USA 85.75

3 Smeele, Brad NZL 85.00

4 Lee, Brett USA 71.50

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge