Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Elimination Rounds of the 49th Masters Begin
Press Release
Date: 05-26-2008

PINE MOUNTAIN, GA (May 24, 2008)--Huge crowds watched the elimination rounds of the 49th Masters Water Ski & Wakeboard Tournament at Callaway Gardens, from the comfort of their own homes and cell phones, thanks to the live web cast provided by Watersports Webcasts. Thus far, more than 65,000 viewers have logged on from over 60 countries!

Maria Camila Linares from Columbia was second off the dock this morning during Women's Tricks elimination round. Linares claimed top seed in the finals with a score of 7480 followed by Mandy Nightingale, Clementine Lucine, Michale Briant and Natalia Berdnikova.

In the Men's Tricks competition, defending champion Nicolas LeForestier placed first with a trick score of 11810 points followed by Aliaksei Zharnasek, Jimmy Siemers, Jaret Llewellyn and Ryan Green.

In the Women's Slalom elimination round, there was a three-way tie for first between April Coble Eller, Regina Jaquess and Emma Sheers with a run of 4@38-off. Karina Nowlan and Karen Truelove will also advance to the finals.

Additionally, there was fierce competition today in the elimination round of Men's Slalom where defending champion Jamie Beauschesne placed first after an incredible run of 2@41-off. Chris Parrish with a run of 5@39-off will be second seed followed by Will Asher, Jodi Fisher and Drew Ross.

Angelika Andriopoulou earned top seed in Women's Jump elimination round today followed by defending champion Natallia Berdnikava, Clementine Lucine, June Fladborg and young comer Nancy Chardin.

In the Men's Jump competition, defending champion Freddy Krueger has once again set the tone for the finals after placing first with a jump of 229 feet. First off the dock today, Kyle Eade jumped 219 feet and will be second seed tomorrow joined by Jason Seels, Ryan Fitts and Jaret Llewellyn; this line up will make for an exciting final!

The Men's Wakeboarding began with two heats and only three will advance from each heat to Sunday's finals. In heat number one, Rusty Malinoski from Canada with a score of 75.11 points finished first and will be joined by Jeff Weatherall and Trevor Hansen. Phillip Soven scored 70 points clinching number one seed in heat number two, followed by Andrew Adkison and J.D. Webb.

The tournament will begin on Sunday at 9:00 am with the elimination round for Women Wakeboard followed by the opening ceremonies and the finals.

The 49th Masters is produced by Nautiques by Correct Craft and officially sponsored by Acme Propellers, Callaway Gardens, Clarion, Mona Vie, PCM Marine Engines, Polk Audio, Trailer Boats and Zero Off. An invitation to compete in the annual Masters Water Ski & Wakeboard Tournament is universally considered an acknowledgement of achievement for reaching the pinnacle in a given watersports discipline - only the world's most elite athletes compete at the Masters. This tournament is IWSF/USA Water Ski and WWA sanctioned. Prize monies, trophies, rings and special event awards total well over $135,000. To watch all of the live action at the 49th Masters, visit


Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge