Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Thrilling End To WWA Wakeboard National Championships in Wisconsin
Dallas Friday NationalsPleasant Prairie, WI Ė In the biggest events of the weekend, the Pro Menís and Pro Womenís finals at the Air Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championships the two hottest riders in 2005, Danny Harf and Dallas Friday continued their run of success in winning the Pro Menís and Pro Womenís National titles.

The Pro Menís national final presented by Verizon Wireless was almost a copy of another big event in the world of wakeboarding the X Games which came down to Harf and Phillip Soven. The result was the same this time out with Harf taking the win over Soven, but it was a very closely contested final. Both riders pulled out big technical tricks, but Harfís had just a little more than Soven.

Harfís run included a heel side 720, a switch heel side 720, a nuclear whirly bird, a handle-pass KGB and a blind Pete Rose. On the double-up, Harf stuck a big toe side 900.

Sovenís run started out with a method skeezer 540, a nuclear toe side roll to blind, a heel side 720, and a whirly 720. On the double-up, Soven landed a heel side backside 720, and just held on for the landing.

Canadian Rusty Malinoski took third in the event and Tino Santori took fourth in the four-man Pro Menís final. While Soven didnít win the event, he did get an extra bonus, a $1,000 check from the U.S. Air Force for the best trick of the weekend off the kicker. Soven landed a 900 off the kicker in the Pro Menís Semifinals.

In the Pro Womenís final it was Friday doing what she always does, waiting for her turn as the last rider off the dock, and locking up the victory. Friday defended her National Championship and has yet to lose an event in 2005. Emily Copeland Durham finished in second place, Melissa Marquardt finished in third and Laura Lohrmann finished in fourth place in the four-woman final.

In the Pro Wakeskate finals Phillip Basino took home his first national championship. George Daniels took second place and Collin Wright was in third. 2005 SeaDoo Pro Wakeskate Series champion Brandon Thomas finished fourth.

In the Junior Menís division, men ages 14-18, Adam Errington won his first national championship, just edging Mike Marsh who finished in second and Jimmy LaRiche who finished in third place.

In the Junior Womenís division, women ages 14-18, Heather Johnson took her first national title. Jenacee Jackson was second in the Junior Womenís final followed by Megan Blaschka in third.

In the Boys division, boys ages 10-13, Robert Soven finished in first place. Jacob Valdez took second place and Julian Cohen finished third.

In the Junior Boys division, boys 9 and under, Cody Coffey finished first, followed by Jason Soven in second and Ben Ferguson in third.

The WWA Wakeboard National Championship is a world-renowned event created by the World Wakeboard Association. The event is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Florida. Competitors will be pulled by the Correct Craft Super Air Nautique wakeboard boat. The event has the support of the following: Verizon Wireless, Perfect Pass, Hyperlite, Fox Riders Co., U.S. Air Force, Infinity Marine Audio, Toyo Tires, KMC Wheels, Liquid Force, Gator Boards, CWB, J - Star, O'Brien, Double-up, Oakley, Reef, Body Glove, UGP, Love Sac, Capix Helmets, Indo Boards, Execute,,,, Monster Towers, Say I Won't, Ten-80 and One Percent Design.

Wake Boarding, published by World Publications, is the official magazine of the Air Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championship. Wake Boarding is the definitive source on all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and the latest news.

Air Nautique WWA Wakeboard National Championships

At Lake Andrea at Prairie Springs Park in Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin

Live results from Sunday August 28 presented by Verizon Wireless

Men's Professional - Finals Heat 01

1 Danny Harf USA 100.00

2 Phillip Soven USA 90.00

3 Rusty Malinoski CDN 80.00

4 Tino Santori USA DQ

Women's Professional - Finals Heat 01

1 Dallas Friday USA 61.67

2 Emily Copeland Durham USA 53.33

3 Melissa Marquardt USA 46.00

4 Laura Lohrmann USA 40.00

Professional WakeSkate - Finals Heat 01

1 Phillip Basino USA 75.00

2 George Daniels USA 58.33

3 C. Wright USA 53.50

4 Brandon Thomas USA 51.67

Junior Men (14-18) - Finals Heat 01

1 Adam Errington USA 72.67

2 Mike Marsh USA 70.33

3 Jimmy LaRiche USA 67.50

4 Robby Carter USA 67.22

5 Danny Thollander USA 61.33

6 Rhett Whatley USA 56.78

7 Alex Hamrick USA 50.56

8 Austin Hair USA 42.67

Junior Women (14-18) - Finals Heat 01

1 Heather Johnson USA 71.89

2 Jenacee Jackson USA 67.22

3 Megan Blaschka USA 56.67

4 Rachael Raben USA 50.56

Boys (10-13) - Finals Heat 01

1 Robert Soven USA 75.67

*Raphael Derome CDN 71.11

2 Jacob Valdez USA 68.56

3 Julian Cohen USA 49.44

4 Steel Lafferty USA 45.56

5 Mitchell Connell USA 38.78

6 Ben Kaiser USA 16.11

*Not eligible for placing in U.S. Nationals because of foreign citizenship.

Junior Boys (9 and under) - Finals Heat 01

1 Cody Coffey USA 52.89

2 Jason Soven USA 50.00

3 Ben Ferguson USA 45.56

4 Kyle Mack USA 38.22

Riders in bold advance to next round

Men's Professional - Semi Finals Heat 01

1 Danny Harf USA 100.00

2 Brett Eisenhauer AUS 87.50

3 Keith Lidberg USA 78.00

4 Jeff Weatherall NZL 74.50

Men's Professional - Semi Finals Heat 02

1 Phillip Soven USA 100.00

2 Erik Ruck USA 90.00

3 Gabe Lucas USA 77.00

4 Jonathan Nadolski USA 73.00

Men's Professional - Semi Finals Heat 03

1 Rusty Malinoski CDN 97.50

2 Daniel Watkins AUS 92.50

3 Mikey Ennen USA 80.00

4 JD Webb USA 70.00

Men's Professional - Semi Finals Heat 04

1 Tino Santori USA 95.00

2 Parks Bonifay USA 89.50

3 Josh Sanders AUS 85.50

4 Ricky Gonzales USA 70.00

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge