Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Bonifay and Friday Win In Portland
Portland, Oregon (June 29, 2003) - The finals of the third stop on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour presented by Chevy Trucks and GM Vortec engines were completed on Sunday at Portland's Blue Lake Park.

In the Pro Men's division Parks Bonifay took his first victory on the Pro Tour this season. For Bonifay, this is his second win overall after taking the Vans Wakeboarding Pro, the first stop on the Vans Triple Crown of Wakeboarding Series. Bonifay was the 2001 Pro Wakeboard Tour Champion.

Shaun Murray took second place for the men, giving him two podium finishes in three Pro Tour events in 2003. Daniel Watkins took third place. This also marks Watkins second podium finish in 2003. Watkins finished third in Detroit as well.

In the Pro Women's Final presented by Barts WaterSports, Dallas Friday took home her second victory of the season. Friday has now won every event on the pro women's circuit in 2003. Maeghan Major finished second and Emily Copeland finished third.

Australian Amber Wing, competing in her first competition in the United States, finished just off the podium in fourth place.

The win for Friday gives her the Indmar Performance award for 2003. The Indmar Performance Award is presented to the male and female athletes who have the best overall placings across the Pro Wakeboard Tour season. Every year Indmar Marine engines award bonus money to the men and women on the Pro Wakeboard Tour and MasterCraft Pro WaterSki Championship.

Barts WaterSports has been the presenting sponsor of the Pro Women's events throughout 2002 and 2003.

In the SeaDoo Watercraft Pro Wakeskate Series Thomas Horrell took home another victory, his second of the season. Brian Grubb finished second on the day and Brandon Thomas finished in third place.

JD Webb continued his dominance in the MasterCraft Junior X Series, winning his fourth event in a row. With the win Webb has the inside shot at the X Games berth awarded to the top competitor in the Junior Men's Series. Derek Grasman, the 2002 MasterCraft Junior X Series defending champion, finished second on the day and Scott Hopkins finished third.

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, presented by Chevy Trucks and GM Vortec Engines, is a five-event circuit organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Florida. Powered by Indmar, the Pro Tour has the support of the following: Bud Light, 180 Energy Drink, SeaDoo watercraft, Hyperlite, Perfect Pass, Activision, Liquid Force, Epiphone Guitars, CWB, OJ Props, Gator Boards, Chipper Beef Jerky, Earthboard, Bare Wetsuits,, Billabong, Reef, Love Sac, Body Glove, Capix Helmets, JoyRide, 3thirteen, Indo Boards, One Percent Designs, UGP, Straightline, Double-up, Blindside, Bootie Lube, Liquid Lube, Monaco, Ice Apparel, 484 Wakeskates and Barts Water Sports.

Sunday's Final Results

Pro Men Finals
1 Parks Bonifay (FL) 97
2 Shaun Murray (FL) 88
3 Daniel Watkins (AUS) 88
Josh Sanders (AUS) 88
Darin Shapiro (FL) 85
Andrew Adkison (FL) 83
Keith Lyman (FL) 80
Shane Bonifay (FL) 79
Brett Eisenhauer (AUS) 77

Pro Women Finals
1 Dallas Friday (FL) 97
2 Maeghan Major (NC) 94
3 Emily Copeland (CO) 87
Amber Wing (AUS) 87
Laura Lohrmann (FL) 86
Buster Lutgert (FL) 83
Melissa Marquardt (CA) 82
Cheryl Newton (CA) 77

Pro Wakeskate Finals
1 Thomas Horrell (FL) 96
2 Brian Grubb (FL) 95
3 Brandon Thomas (FL) 90
Jacques Favret (FL) 86
Jim Leatherman (FL) 85
Collin Wright (OR) 84
Aaron Reed (FL) 80
Drew McGuckin (FL) 76

Jr Men Finals
1 J D Webb (FL) 93
2 Derek Grasman (MI) 91
3 Scott Hopkins (FL) 87
Jonathan Nadolski (FL) 87
Justin Sellers (NC) 86
Jeff House (TN) 85
Kevin Henshaw (CAN) 82
Philip Combs (OR) 81

Pro Men Semifinals
(top 3 each heat advance to Finals)
Heat # 1
1 Andrew Adkison (FL) 94
2 Josh Sanders (AUS) 93
3 Shaun Murray (FL) 91
Zane Schwenk (FL) 88
Loren Levine (WI) 87
Chad Sharpe (CAN) 84

Heat # 2
1 Brett Eisenhauer (AUS) 95
2 Parks Bonifay (FL) 93
3 Keith Lyman (FL) 92
Jeff Weatherall (NZL) 87
Trevor Hansen (FL) 87
Chris Law (FL) 84

Heat # 3
1 Darin Shapiro (FL) 96
2 Daniel Watkins (AUS) 94
3 Shane Bonifay (FL) 90
Gerry Nunn (FL) 89
Froggy Soven (FL) 86
Nick Weinacker (FL) 82

Pro Women Semifinals
(top 2 advance to Finals
Heat # 1
1 Melissa Marquardt (CA) 96
2 Laura Lohrmann (FL) 94
Lauren Loe (TX) 90
Tara Hamilton (FL) 90

Heat # 2
1 Emily Copeland (CO) 93
2 Buster Lutgert (FL) 93
Niki Troock (CAN) 91
Lauren Harf (FL) 90
Megan McNeil (WA) 88

Heat # 3
1 Maeghan Major (NC) 95
2 Cheryl Newton (CA) 95
Louise Moore (FL) 92
Adrian Gentry (WA) 89

Heat # 4
1 Dallas Friday (FL) 96
2 Amber Wing (AUS) 94
Kiyomi Suzuki (JP) 92
Gretchen Hammarberg (CA) 89

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge