Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Rathy Claims First Career Pro Tour Stop Win
Press Release
Date: 06-22-2009

Pleasant Prairie, Wis. - The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour wrapped up its final day of action in Pleasant Prairie, Wis. today with five rounds of riding between the Pro Men and Jr. Pro Men divisions.

The Pro Men were first off the dock this morning for a 20 man quarterfinal, which eliminated half the competition, advancing only the top two riders in each of the five heats. The 10 semifinalists battled it out for one of four spots in the finals, with Andrew Adkison, Harley Clifford, Aaron Rathy and current Pro Tour titlist Phillip Soven moving onto the final round.

All four finalists threw down some impressive runs, but only Canadian ripper Aaron Rathy had two stand up passes to earn him his first Pro Tour stop win of his career. Clifford and Adkison rounded out the contest podium.

"I'm just stoked to get my first win, that's all I can really say," said Rathy. "It was a tough final, no doubt, but I had two stand up passes and came away with the win."

With today's win, Aaron Rathy now leads both the Pro Tour and the King of Wake standings lists.

Although Aussie Dean Smith didn't make the finals today, the former Australian Pro Tour champ did ride away with the ROCKSTAR Best Trick Award for his massive Indy Tantrum Backside 3 off of the U.S. Air Force Kicker. The award is a $1,000 cash prize.

In the Jr. Pro Men's division, ten amateur rippers hit the water today in two heats of five for their semifinals, with only the top two riders in each heat advancing onto the final round. Phillip Aslinger, Steel Lafferty, Bob Soven and Aussie Mitch Langfield faced off in a heated four man final today with Soven taking the top spot. Langfield, Lafferty and Aslinger rounded out the finals.

With today's win, Bob Soven claims his second Pro Tour stop victory of the season and continues his lead the Jr. Pro Men's standings.

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour now heads to Knoxville, Tenn., June 27 & 28 for the third stop of the Pro Tour. Additional venues for the 2009 Pro Tour, includes Fort Worth, Tex., Elizabethtown, Ky. and Sparks/Reno, Nev.

For schedules, results, standings, photos, videos, athlete bios and more, please visit

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla. The Pro Tour has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Mona Vie, the U.S. Air Force, Indmar, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Ronix, Liquid Force, Gator Boards, Oakley, Ride the Wake, FUEL TV and

The MasterCraft X-Star is the exclusive tow boat of the Pro Wakeboard Tour, as it has been since the Tour's inception in 1992. Indmar Marine engines provides the power for MasterCraft's X Series line of competition tow boats.

ROCKSTAR is the world's most powerful energy drink. Enhanced with the potent herbal blend of Guarana, Ginkgo, Ginseng and Milk Thistle, ROCKSTAR is formulated to provide an incredible energy boost for those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles - from athletes to rock stars. ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available in eleven amazing flavors: Original, Sugar Free, Zero Carb, Juiced Mango Orange Passion Fruit, Juiced Guava, Juiced Pomegranate, Tropical Punched, Punched Citrus, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Latte, and Roasted Light Vanilla. ROCKSTAR ENERGY SHOTS are available in Wild Berry and Tropical Punch flavors. ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK is available at convenience and grocery retail outlets across the United States, Canada, Australia, Austria, Belgium, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, Finland, Spain, The Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, and throughout the United Kingdom.

Media Partners

To catch all the high-flying, rail-sliding, water-sports action of the King of Wake series, tune in to FUEL TV - the official television partner of the King of Wake. WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the King of Wake series. Read about all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and news.

King of Wake

Viewed as the world's elite pro wakeboarding circuit, the King of Wake series has attracted the sport's top athletes from throughout the globe. With more than $300,000 in prize money over the eight event season, athletes compete during the course of the year to be named the "King of Wake" - an award based on points accumulated at each stop of the series. Events include the Wake Games, the WWA Wakeboard National Championships, the WWA Wakeboard World Championships and all five stops on the Pro Wakeboard Tour. The King of Wake is organized by World Sports & Marketing - the leading wake events producer since 1988.

Alli, the Alliance of Action Sports

Alli, the Alliance of Action Sports, is a global business that encompasses national and international action sports tours and events, multimedia production, and a consumer facing lifestyle brand. The Alliance includes: the Dew Tour, Winter Dew Tour, China Invitational, Maloof Money Cup, AMA Motocross Championship, King of Wake series, and the Free Flow Tour; Alli Productions, which creates original content, produces and presents content with partners, and distributes Alli content through a variety of channels. Alli is owned by NBC Sports and MTV Networks and represents a network of athletes, fans, brands and properties. Its mission is to facilitate the momentous growth of action sports, through competition and lifestyle, for a new generation of fans and athletes. The Alli properties are home to more than 550,000 spectators each year and broadcasts more than 150 hours of original content in 100 countries and 280 million homes worldwide. More information can be found at

Sunday, June 21 - PWT Stop #2 Final Results:

Pro Men - Finals Heat #1

1 Aaron Rathy CAN 93.00

2 Harley Clifford AUS 90.00

3 Andrew Adkison USA 79.75

4 Phillip Soven USA 77.25

Jr. Pro Men - Finals Heat #1

1 Bob Soven USA 98.00

2 Mitch Langfield AUS 88.25

3 Steel Lafferty USA 83.75

4 Phillip Aslinger USA 70.00

Pro Men - Semifinals Heat #1

1 Aaron Rathy CAN 85.00

2 Andrew Adkison USA 84.25

3 Rusty Malinoski CAN 80.00

4 Dean Smith AUS 79.25

5 Trevor Hansen USA 71.50

Pro Men - Semifinals Heat #2

1 Phillip Soven USA 87.25

2 Harley Clifford AUS 86.50

3 Jimmy LaRiche USA 86.00

4 Olivier Derome CAN 73.50

5 Nick Davies ENG 67.25

Jr. Pro Men - Semifinals Heat #1

1 Mitch Langfield AUS 95.50

2 Phillip Aslinger USA 87.50

3 Daniel Powers USA 78.50

4 Joshua Twelker USA 74.50

5 Johnny Tobaben USA 47.50

Jr. Pro Men - Semifinals Heat #2

1 Bob Soven USA 97.25

2 Steel Lafferty USA 91.25

3 Jacob Valdez USA 77.50

4 Alex Graydon USA 69.00

5 Nick Galotifore USA 65.00

Pro Men - Quarterfinals Heat #1

1 Jimmy LaRiche USA 93.00

2 Trevor Hansen USA 88.25

3 Adam Errington USA 85.00

4 Bryan Hutton USA 73.75

Pro Men - Quarterfinals Heat #2

1 Phillip Soven USA 94.25

2 Dean Smith AUS 90.00

3 Austin Hair USA 85.75

4 Corey Bradley USA 70.00

Pro Men - Quarterfinals Heat #3

1 Andrew Adkison USA 93.75

2 Rusty Malinoski CAN 86.50

3 JD Webb USA 84.50

4 Jeff Weatherall NZL 75.25

Pro Men - Quarterfinals Heat #4

1 Aaron Rathy CAN 94.00

2 Nick Davies ENG 89.00

3 Jeff House USA 76.00

4 Shawn Watson USA 65.25

Pro Men - Quarterfinals Heat #5

1 Harley Clifford AUS 91.75

2 Olivier Derome CAN 90.75

3 Kyle Rattray CAN 85.25

4 Chris Dykmans USA 72.25

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge