Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
New World Champs are Crowned!
Press Release
Date: 09-08-2008

Oklahoma City, Okla. - Fans packed the shorelines of the Oklahoma River in Oklahoma City today to witness the final rounds of the 2008 Rockstar Energy Drink WWA Wakeboard World Championships, presented by Supra.

As expected, the defending world champ Phillip Soven, 19, of Longwood, Fla. reached the Pro Men's division finals today and as the top-seeded rider. But the pressure of retaining his title got the best of Soven, as the Florida native posted a score of 82.00, landing him in third-place.

Taking the top spot in the six-man final and claiming the 2008 world title was Rusty Malinoski, 24, of Humboldt, Sask., who became the first Canadian rider to win the world title since Jeremy Kovak claimed it in 1997. Fellow Canadian rider Aaron Rathy of Nanaimo, B.C. finished the contest in second-place.

Although JD Webb did not make it to the finals today, the 2004 Rookie of the Year did manage to ride away with some extra cash, thanks to Rockstar Energy Drink. Webb was named the winner of the Rockstar Energy Drink Best Trick Award, a $1,000 cash bonus for landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a switch frontside 270 to backlip nosepress on the Billabong Rooftop.

With the defending women's world champ Amber Wing, 25, of Sydney, Australia out of the contest with a knee injury, all eyes were on three-time world champ Dallas Friday, 22, of Orlando, Fla., as she seemed likely winner. But British standout, Nicola Butler, 16, of Bournemouth, England threw down an impressive run to take the top spot in the finals to claim her first-ever world title. Butler stands as the only UK native to win a wakeboard world title. Friday finished in second-place and California's Melissa Marquardt took third.

The top four shredders in the world battled it out on the water today in the Pro Wakeskate division finals. Former world champ Brian Grubb, current U.S. national champ Stuart Shinn and two-time Canadian national champ James Balzer all looked to leave the defending world titlist Reed Hansen in their wake and claim the '08 world title for themselves.

But Hansen was unbeatable on the water today, as the defending champ retained his title, beating his next closest competitor, Grubb, by nearly 20 points. With today's win, Hansen becomes the first pro wakeskater ever to win consecutive world titles.

2008 has proven to be Jimmy LaRiche's year, as the Boca Raton, Fla. native won the '08 Wake Games title, '08 Pro Tour title, the '08 U.S. national title, and now the '08 world title, after taking the top spot in today’s Jr. Men's division finals.

LaRiche faced off in a six-man final for the world title, beating out Canada's Raphael Derome and Aussie Harley Clifford, who finished second and third-place, respectively.

Anna Hejak took the top spot in the Jr. Women's division four-woman final. Holland Finely finished in second-place and Megan Blaschka placed third in the finals.

In the Boys division, six young rippers, ages 10-13, faced off in the finals for the division's world title. Michael Dowdy threw down an impressive run to claim the division's world title with Jess Polley and Cooper Swink rounding out the podium, respectively.

The youngest riders out on the water today, ages nine and under, faced off in a three-man final in the Jr. Boys division. Ben Watts took the top spot in the finals to claim the world title. Joe Martella and Ian Rabon finished in second and third, respectively.

To catch all the wakeboarding action from home, tune in to FUEL TV on Nov. 10 at 8 p.m. EST.

FUEL TV is a 24/7 action-sports lifestyle network for wakeboarding, skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX and freestyle motocross. A unit of Fox Cable Networks, FUEL TV was launched July 1, 2003, and is seen in 25 million U.S. homes. To subscribe to FUEL TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit

Supra is the official tow boat of the WWA Wakeboard World Championships. Celebrating nearly 30 years of excellence in the marine industry, Supra pioneered rider-friendly boats that feature innovative hull designs, adjustable wakes and versatile seating with sleek and sexy styling. Supra kicks up the fattest wakes with a line of 10 tournament-quality Launch Series boats, each with the attitude and ability to help you find more altitude than ever before.

Rockstar is the world's most powerful energy drink. Developed to improve the recovery time of those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles, Rockstar Energy Drink is available in 10 flavors -- Original, Sugar Free, Juiced, Zero Carb, Guava, Pomegranate, Punched, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Vanilla Light and Roasted Latte -- at convenience stores and retail grocery outlets across the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia and the United Kingdom.

WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the World Championships. WakeBoarding is the definitive source on all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and the latest news.

The WWA Wakeboard World Championships is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla. The Championships has the support of the following: Rockstar Energy Drink, Supra boats, Indmar, the U.S. Air Force, Reef, Mona Vie, Hyperlite Wakeboards, CWB Wakeboards, Ronix Wakeboards, Gator Boards, Oakley, World Wakeboard Association, Cire, Oklahoma City, the Oklahoma City Convention & Visitors Bureau,, and

Sunday, September 7 - Final Results:

Pro Men

Finals Heat #01

1.Rusty Malinoski CDN 94.00

2.Aaron Rathy CDN 85.50

3.Phillip Soven USA 82.00

4.Olivier Derome CDN 70.25

5.Shawn Watson USA 68.25

Pro Women

Finals Heat #01

1.Nicola Butler UK 95.25

2.Dallas Friday USA 85.00

3.Melissa Marquardt USA 72.25

4.Hayley Smith AUS 60.25

5.Shelby Kantar USA 68.50

6.Laura Lohrmann USA 68.75

Pro Wakeskate

Finals Heat #01

1.Reed Hansen USA 80.00

2.Brian Grubb USA 61.67

3.Stuart Shinn USA 50.00

4.James Balzer CDN 36.67

Jr. Men (14-18)

Finals Heat #01

1.Jimmy LaRiche USA 96.25

2.Raphael Derome CDN 91.00

3.Harley Clifford AUS 74.00

4.Robert Soven USA 69.00

5.Jarrod Askew AUS 61.75

6.Pierce Homsey USA 58.00

Jr. Women (14-18)

Finals Heat #01

1.Anna Hajek USA 55.00

2.Holland Finley USA 44.22

3.Megan Blaschka USA 37.00

4.Danni Petraitis USA 22.00

Boys (10-13)

Finals Heat #01

1.Michael Dowdy USA 75.00

2.Jess Polley CDN 61.67

3.Cooper Swink USA 57.11

4.Bradley Teunissen AUS 49.56

5.Kyle Evans USA 40.67

6.Tony Iacconi AUS 31.33

Jr. Boys (9 and under)

Finals Heat #01

1.Ben Watts USA 56.11

2.Joe Martella USA 48.33

3.Ian Rabon USA 36.67

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #01

1.Shawn Watson USA 92.75

2.Andrew Adkison USA 92.00

3. Dean Smith AUS 80.25

4.Shane Bonifay USA 76.50

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #02

1.Aaron Rathy CDN 97.25

2.Erik Ruck USA 86.75

3.Trevor Hansen USA 80.25

4.Brad Smeele NZL 75.75

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #03

1.Rusty Malinoski CDN 92.50

2.Bryan Hutton USA 89.75

3.Kyle Alberts USA 80.25

4.Daniel Watkins AUS 77.50

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #04

1.Olivier Derome CDN 94.75

2.Shaun Murray USA 90.50

3.JD Webb USA 84.75

4.Kyle Rattray CDN 70.00

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #05

1.Phillip Soven USA 100.00

2.Nick Weinacker USA 82.50

3.Adam Errington SCT 79.00

4.Josh Palma USA 78.50

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge