Ronix Wakeboards

Wakeboarding News
Teens Set Record with Wins at Twin Cities Contest
Press Release
Date: 06-09-2008

Twin Cities, Minn. - Two of the youngest and most dominating riders on the 2008 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour, set new records today with wins at the Twin Cities contest.

Phillip Soven, 19, of Longwood, Fla. and Nicola Butler, 16, Cape Town, South Africa not only claimed the top spot in their respective division during today's finals, but both riders set new Tour records as well.

By capturing the Twin Cities win today in the Pro Men's Division, Phillip Soven became the first rider in the Tour’s 17-year history to start a season off with three consecutive tour stop wins. Soven continues to dominate the Pro Men's Division, as the Florida native now leads the Tour's Indmar Performance Standings with 300-points.

With his third win of the season, Phillip Soven, the reigning Tour champion, appears to be well on his way to winning his second straight Tour title.

Nicola Butler also set a record today after claiming the top spot in the Pro Women's Division. The win today is not only Butler's third consecutive tour victory as well, but also marks the first time ever a female rider has captured three straight wins on the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour. Butler now paces the Pro Women's Division with 300-points in the Indmar Performance Standings.

Nicola Butler's success continued in the Twin Cities today, as the second-year pro ripper claimed the MONA VIE Best Trick Award. The award is a $250 bonus for the female rider landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a front lip 270 front board to fackie over the Billabong Rooftop.

Although former wakeboard world champion Erik Ruck didn't take home the win in the Twin Cities today, the Wisconsin native did pick-up some extra cash thanks to Rockstar Energy Drink. Ruck was named the winner of the Rockstar Best Trick Award, a $1,000 cash bonus for landing the most impressive trick of the contest, a mute back-mobe off the Air Force Kicker.

Wakeboarding's future stars took to the water today for the Jr. Men's Division semifinals, where 10 of the most talented, young rippers, ages 14-18, competed in two heats of five for a spot in the finals. Only the top-two semifinalists from each heat advanced onto the finals, sending more than half the competitors home packing.

Harley Clifford (AUS), Jimmy LaRiche (USA), Stephen Cahail (USA) and Ryan King battled it out on the water during the finals with LaRiche ultimately taking the top spot with a score of 95.00.

The Twin Cities contest marked the third of five stops on the 2008 MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour. The Tour will now head out west to its newest stop, Phoenix, Ariz.

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour is a season-long points chase toward the tour title and the Indmar Performance Award, a $10,000 cash bonus to the top points earner in the Pro Men's Division and a $5,000 prize for the Pro Women's Division winner.

To catch all the wakeboarding action from home, tune in to Fuel TV. For exact air dates, visit

Fuel TV is a 24/7 action-sports lifestyle network for wakeboarding, skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, BMX and freestyle motocross. A unit of Fox Cable Networks, Fuel TV was launched July 1, 2003, and is seen in 24 million U.S. homes. To subscribe to Fuel TV, call 877-4-FUEL-TV. For program times and other information, visit

MasterCraft is the exclusive tow boat for the Pro Wakeboard Tour, as it has been since the tour's wakeboarding events began in 1992. Indmar Marine engines will provide the power for MasterCraft's X Series line of competition tow boats.

Rockstar is the world's most powerful energy drink. Developed to increase the recovery time of those who lead active and exhausting lifestyles, Rockstar Energy Drink is available in 10 flavors -- Original, Sugar Free, Juiced, Zero Carb, Guava, Pomegranate, Punched, Roasted Mocha, Roasted Vanilla Light and Roasted Latte -- at convenience stores and retail grocery outlets across the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia and the United Kingdom.

WakeBoarding, published by Bonnier Corp., is the official magazine of the MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour. WakeBoarding is the definitive source on all things wakeboarding, with expert coverage of professional instruction, gear, boats and the latest news.

The MasterCraft Pro Wakeboard Tour has the support of the following sponsors: MasterCraft, Rockstar Energy Drink, Mona Vie, the U.S. Air Force, Indmar, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Gator Boards, Ronix, Oakley, Reef, Cire, and

Sunday, June 8 – Final Results:

Pro Men

Finals Heat #: 01

1 Phillip Soven USA 97.25

2 Andrew Adkison USA 87.75

3 Rusty Malinoski CAN 77.75

4 JD Webb USA 77.25

Pro Women

Finals Heat #: 01

1 Nicola Butler UK 96.50

2 Dallas Friday USA 85.00

3 Melissa Marquardt USA 78.75

4 Shelby Kantar USA 69.50

5 Amber Wing AUS 60.25

5 Laura Lohrmann USA 60.00

Junior Men (14-18)

Finals Heat #: 01

1 Jimmy LaRiche USA 95.00

2 Harley Clifford AUS 93.00

3 Ryan King USA 82.00

4 Stephen Cahail USA 70.00

Junior Men (14-18)

Semifinals Heat #: 01

1 Harley Clifford ASU 95.75

2 Ryan King USA 90.00

3 Robert Soven AUS 81.25

4 Kirby Liesmann USA 73.00

5 AJ Racinelli USA 60.00

Junior Men (14-18)

Semifinals Heat #: 02

1 Jimmy LaRiche USA 97.75

2 Stephen Cahail USA 82.00

3 Steel Lafferty AUS 79.50

4 Phillip Aslinger USA 72.25

5 Julian Cohen USA 68.50

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #: 01

1 Rusty Malinoski CAN 93.50

2 JD Webb USA 86.75

3 Shawn Watson USA 81.50

4 Aaron Rathy CAN 71.50

4 Shane Bonifay USA 66.55

Pro Men

Semifinals Heat #: 02

1 Phillip Soven USA 96.50

2 Andrew Adkison USA 90.50

3 Adam Errington CAN 83.00

4 Erik Ruck USA 67.75

4 Kyle Alberts CAN 62.25

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 01

1 Andrew Adkison USA 97.00

2 Shawn Watson USA 90.00

3 Austin Hair USA 78.50

4 Chris O'Shea AUS 74.50

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 02

1 Adam Errington SCT 92.50

2 Aaron Rathy CAN 92.00

3 Adam Fields USA 83.25

4 Kyle Rattray CAN 72.25

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 03

1 Rusty Malinoski CAN 98.50

2 Shane Bonifay USA 87.25

3 Danny Thollander USA 78.50

4 Bradley Smeele NZL 75.75

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 04

1 JD Webb USA 93.00

2 Erik Ruck USA 90.75

3 Chad Sharpe CAN 86.25

4 Shaun Murray USA 24.50

Pro Men

Quarterfinals Heat #: 05

1 Philip Soven USA 97.00

2 Kyle Alberts USA 88.00

3 Jimmy Trask USA 78.75

4 Olivier Derome CAN 76.25

Take Action
Comments Comment on Article
Newsletter Newsletter Sign-Up




Copyright 1997-2012 - - All Rights Reserved

Wakeboards - Wakeboard Videos - Wakeskating - Wakepics - Wakelounge